The African Elephant Fund is working to ensure a secure future for African elephants and their habitats

The African Elephant Fund is working to ensure a secure future for African elephants and their habitats.


Elephants are vital to our ecosystem. Yet the population of elephants is steadily dwindling, by almost 8 per cent every year.   We must step up efforts to manage and protect our biodiversity, including the African elephant.

Erik Solheim, Head United Nations Environment




Videos


The Amazing World of Elephants documentary from the AEF project in Ghana entitled: Elephant Conservation Through Law Enforcement And Stakeholder Engagement In Mole National Park And Its Corridors.

Educational Awareness documentary entitled:The Amazing World of Elephants. The d ..


Members of the Steering Committee

(Effective Nov 28, 2014)

No. REGION COUNTRY    NAME               CONTACT
1 East Africa Kenya

Patrick Omondi

Chair

Tel: +254 20 6000800/ 237 9407/8
Cell: 0735 663421/0726610508/9, 0775-563642
Fax: 254 20 6103792
Email: pomondi@environment.go.ke, poduor2003@yahoo.co.uk

2 Ethiopia

Kumera Wakjira Gemeda

Vice Chair

Tel:+251 910 314351/+251 11 5514389/+251 11 5546804

Email: matikume@yahoo.com  
 

3 West Africa Burkina Faso

Benoit Doamba

Member

Tel: +226 76 66 33 02 / 70 09 71 77 / 78 28 73 28
Email: benoitdoamba@hotmail.com
4 Ghana

Kofi Nana Adu-Nsiah

Member

Tel : +233 (28) 911 54 99;+233 (24) 410 71 43
Email: info.wd@fcghana.org ; adunsiah@yahoo.com
5 Central Africa Congo

Roger Albert Mbete

Member

Tel: +242 06  665 56 00 / 05 665 56 00 
Email: rogermbete@gmail.com

 
6 Gabon

Lee White

Member

Tel : +241 04233113
Email: lwhite@uuplus.com; lwhite@parcsgabon.ga

 

7   Southern Africa Botswana

Cyril Taolo

Member

Tel: + 267 3973097, Fax: + 267 391 23
Email: ctaolo@gov.bw
 
8 South Africa

Thea Carroll

Member

Tel: +27 (12) 310 35 75
Fax: +27 (12) 320 70 26
Email:
tcarroll@environment.gov.za
 

 
9

Ex Officio

Members

UNEP

Mamadou Kane

AEF Secretariat

Tel: (254) 20 762 5046
Email: Mamadou.Kane@unep.org
 

9

Dorris Chepkoech

AEF Secretariat

Tel: (254) 20 762 5625 
Email: Dorris.Chepkoech@unep.org

 

10 CITES

Tom de Meulenaer

CITES Secretariat

Tel: +41(22) 917 8139 / 40 
Email: Tom.De-Meulenaer@cites.org
 
11 Donors Netherland Marijke Langeveld

National coordinator CITES and WLC,
Ministry of Agriculture Nature and Food Quality
The Netherlands
Phone: +31 70 3785587
Email: m.w.l.h.langeveld@minez.nl

12 Germany Dr. Rudolf Specht

Division N I 3 - Species Conservation
Federal Ministry for the Environment,

Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety Robert-Schuman-Platz 3,53175 Bonn, Germany

Phone :+49 (0)228 99 305-4462
Fax : +49 (0)228 99 305-2684
Email: rudolf.specht@bmub.bund.de 

13 Belgium Miet Van Looy

Tel:02 524 74 21 | f 02 524 74 49

Email: miet.vanlooy@milieu.belgie.be